Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

1-2-2006 separate movies

2006-01-03 - 9:37 a.m.

We went to the movies and saw separate films. When Squid & the Whale (excellent, btw) was over, I ducked in to watch the last chunk of Brokeback Mountain again. I sat in the back of the theater, where I rarely sit. I prefer the front third of the theater, distance back being dependent upon the size and height of the screen. In the stillness of the credits, I made my way up to the front of the theater and sat behind him, my arms across the back of his shoulders. He leaned his head against me as he got his tears under control. We talked a little about the film and the music and then, snuffling, we made our way over to the open screening. That's rather like an open mic night for filmmakers. It was jarring going from the rich story and performances of the Squid & the Whale and the power and beauty of Brokeback Mountain to the dodgy shorts.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!