Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

1/16/2005 a long ramble about a great weekend

2006-01-16 - 9:19 a.m.

Lovely weekend!

Friday night at the strike of five I shut down my computer and darted home. Slid into my fun, sexy skirt I got months ago and hadn't gotten to wear yet...black pencil skirt with one row of flapper fringe just above the bottom and 3-inch side slits. Even went so far as to wear black back-seam stockings. I knew I would be the dressiest one there by far, but what the heck. Sometimes you just need to dress with a little flash and remind yourself that yes, you can look like that sometimes.

Dinner for eight at a wonderful Japanese/Thai restaurant. I ordered miso soup to start, which came in a bowl as big as my head. We all passed dishes around the table and had a great evening of conversation and killer food. I still made it to bed before midnight.

Saturday I got up fairly early, made up the guest bed and hit the produce shop and grocery store to restock the kitchen. Realized I'd forgotten to stop off at the bakery so I put on my trench coat and walked to the bakery around the corner in the rain. I love having a bakery so close.

Vacuumed and did a few more chores, jumped in the shower and was all sorted by the time my cousin and her boyfriend arrived. We lunched on some tomato pie I'd picked up at the bakery, caught up a bit and decided on our plans for the day.

Headed downtown and hit the Franklin Institute. We picked up "after 5" tickets for the Body Worlds exhibit and the Human Body IMAX film and headed off to catch a photography exhibit at a newish gallery. It was a bit longer of a walk than I'd figured, but the gallery was beautiful and we found some excellent work to see. It was raining pretty hard by the time we left and the temperature was on a steady drop from 60 to 28. We got pretty soggy. Ducked into a tiny Japanese restaurant for a quick bite of dinner and a warm-up before battling 58 mph wind gusts back to the Franklin Institute. Walking became fairly comical in that heavy a wind. We all looked like mimes.

Body Worlds was amazing. We had been there for quite a long time when we came across a sign pointing us to the second part of the exhibit, at least as large as the first. Never figured it would be that big! Positively fascinating and beautiful. So glad I didn't miss it!

Home again, we warmed up with a pot of jasmine tea and some munchies over a little Eddie Izzard. We collapsed for the night about 1:00. Well, all but the littlest and furriest of us. He was up and down through the night, pouncing on me and on the big cat.

I got the luxury of getting to drift in and out through the morning and finally got up about 9. I love to cook for people and breakfast is one of my favorite meals to make. I crept downstairs and put on a pot of coffee, cooked up some cinnamon apples to top the french toast, and had potatoes with sweet onions sizzling away before they got up. Some OJ and veggie sausages rounded out the rest of the meal.

I thought about digging into a house project in the afternoon, but decided to relax instead. I read, took a nap with the kitten, and watched a couple of movies. Luxury! I'll pick up the stuff for the next project this week and start it on an evening or one of the coming weekends. The railing seems to be the next project, so I need to strip it and then see if what's under there is good enough to stain or if I'm just painting it over with something I actually like.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!