Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Another meme

2006-01-24 - 9:08 a.m.

A meme, for E.

1. First Name? Omitted. We'll just go with Vera.

2. Were you named after anyone? My first name is not for anyone else. My older sister was supposed to get it. It was the only girl name my folks had considered. When she was born, my father looked at her and said, "That's not [Vera]!" My mom replied, "Who is she, then?" and he just came up with her name on the spot.

I was supposed to be David as they hadn't even considered that I could be a girl. They didn't name me until my grandfather threatened to stay there in the hospital "until this child has a name." So my mother asked my father, "Is this [Vera]?" and he decided I was.

My middle name is for my paternal grandmother, at the insistence of my maternal grandmother. I'd have gotten my middle name from her instead but she hates both her first and middle names.

And my last name...that's from my ex-hub, but wasn't even the name he was born with. He changed it to his former stepdad's name when he turned 18.

3. Do you wish on stars? sure

4. When did you last cry? Saturday afternoon, watching Nine Lives.

5. Do you like your handwriting? When I pay attention to making it look nice, sure. Normally it's a little erratic, but ummm, that's probably pretty appropriate.

6. What is your favorite lunch meat? As seafood is the only meat I eat, I don't really eat lunch meat. So I'll go with a crabcake.

7. What is your birth date? November 2

8. Mountains or Beach? Love both. Particularly love both at the same time...beautiful and dramatic.

9. If you were another person, would YOU be friends with you? Geez I hope so.

10. Do you have a journal? This one gets used the most and then I keep a handwritten one from time to time.

11. Do you use sarcasm a lot? Me? Naaaaaaaaaah. NEVER. :D

12. Do you have a nickname? A few here and there but mostly just called my first name or the shortened version of my first name.

13. Would you bungee jump? Sure

14. Do you untie your shoes when you take them off? Most of my shoes don't tie. Ones that do stay tied up when reasonably possible.

15. Do you think that you are strong? Is this question referring to emotional or physical strength? If the former, yes. If the latter, not particularly so.

16. What is your favorite ice cream flavor? peanut butter and chocolate

17. Shoe Size? 9.5

18. Red or pink? red

19. What is your least favorite thing about yourself? procrastination's high on that list.

20. Who do you miss most? Sooooo many people on that list. At the top would be one particular boy far away and my late aunt.

21. Do you want everyone you send this to, to send it back? Not sending it out.

22. What color pants and shoes are you wearing right now? No pants! Whee! Actually am wearing a dress (black) and boots (black).


23. What are you listening to right now? Mighty Blue Kings.

24. Last thing you ate? If drinking counts, coffee. If not, popcorn with old bay seasoning last night.

25. If you were a crayon, what color would you be? Green. The standard crayola green was always the shortest one in my pack.

26. What is the weather like right now? blue skies. aaah

27. Last person you talked to on the phone? Brian

28. 1st thing you notice about the opposite sex? smile

29. Do you like the person who sent this to you? quite!

30. Favorite Drink? coffee

31. What is your favorite sport? hockey

32. Hair Color? light brown

33. Eye Color? blue/green

34. Do you wear contacts? yes

35. Favorite Food? Am a foodie. Hurts to pick just one. Chocolate, shrimp, crab, peas, jambalaya, matar paneer, persimmons, afghan sauteed pumpkin...

36. Last Movie You Watched? Wedding Crashers

37. Favorite Day of the Year? Don't really have one particular one anymore. Used to be halloween but it's been a few years since I had much halloween fun.

38. Scary Movies or Happy Endings? Dig both as long as the movies really are good and scary (how rare!) and the happy endings aren't the contrived "and fluffy's alive, too!" sorta endings. Truly scary movies are probably more rare, so I'll pick those for now.

39. Summer or winter? SUMMER. No contest.

40. Hugs OR Kisses? These are a few of my favorite things...damn. If I really have to pick, kisses. But if you like me, don't make me pick. :)

41. What Is Your Favorite Dessert? ice cream

42. Who Is Most Likely To Respond?

43. Who Is Least Likely To Respond?

44. Current living arrangements? own a house

45. What books are you reading? Things My Girlfriend and I Have Argued About, rereading the Tao Te Ching, and reading scripts galore.

46. What is on Your Mouse Pad? My company's name and branding. And the mouse of course. And the corner of my keyboard.

47. What did you watch on TV last night? Gilmore Girls and West Wing taped from the last week.

48. Favorite sounds? Waves, a kid giggling, solo piano, the sound of a tennis ball being hit, purring, a catch in the throat and exhale in my ear, my grandfather's voice...

49. What's the farthest you've been from home? Rome.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!