Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

the weekend that was

2006-02-06 - 9:11 a.m.

Friday night was so beautiful out I was itchy to get out and about. Ended up stumbling into a plan to meet a friend at a poetry reading and then grab a third friend for a beer or three.

Paul Muldoon was wonderful. Amazing flow, fabulous words and such succinct imagery. What a way to spend an evening. The college had desperately underestimated his appeal so the room was jam-packed with crowds standing in the back and seated on the carpet at the poet's feet.

Saturday I made it through a lot of have-tos like bills, errands, and even a load of laundry. Then B and I drove out to Reading for dinner and a hockey game with his brother's family. The Reading Royals trampled Wheeling, WV. Alas the refs not only didn't deal well with the fights, but frankly seemed to almost encourage them. Grr.

Yes, poetry and hockey in the same weekend. That's my kind of time.

On Sunday it was time to work on a school project for my first-grade nephew. Ever heard the story of Flat Stanley? The story's about a kid who gets squished flat by a bulletin board but now gets to have all sorts of travel adventures since he can fit so easily in an envelope. Wish I could do that myself as it's a whole lot cheaper than US Airways. Anyway, Flat Stanley arrived to see Philadelphia so Sunday I took him out on the town. I got pictures of Flat Stanley with boats, ice skaters, all variety of historical sites, and even got him a tour of a Philly cop car.

Late lunch at the Continental (portabello version of a cheesesteak mmm) and some script reading time then caught a showing of Cache'. Wow. Though if you've seen it, contact me as I want to talk about the ending!! :)

Home again to put the last touches on the Sunday pot o' soup and read scripts for the rest of the night, listening to the neighbor screaming about the Superbowl. I heard them making margaritas and then her shrill WOOOO HOOOOOs became even more frequent. Gad.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!