Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Dressing myself in black and shrimp

2006-02-17 - 9:10 a.m.

Hoo, the class/dinner tonight is growing still more. I think we'll end up with at least 9 or 10 people. I am all antsy, wishing I could take a half day to go home and putter around the house, getting things settled, but it's not to be. The friend who'll be teaching tonight will likely show up right as I get home and I'll race about doing the last-minute things while he gets the kitchen settled.

Decided in my infinite foolishness wisdom this morning that I could make the shrimp butter before work. Dumb decision number two was that I didn't need to take off my suitjacket first. Well, whoops. Didn't notice until I was in the parking lot at work that I had a big stain on the jacket. At least now I know that the Tide To Go stain pen at my desk works. Mostly.

Modified the recipe for the shrimp butter a bit so hoping it's good. I don't like mayo so I didn't have any around and subbed plain yogurt instead. Used neufchatel instead of regular cream cheese (though the dish is hardly low fat...it still has a whole stick of butter) and added some old bay 'cause, well, it's old bay and that's never a bad thing.

And it seems I'm getting all rambly again since I'm at work and don't want to be here and didn't get enough sleep.

Oh! And last night I went to Black Maria, a festival of short films. A few really good ones and two that made my eyes roll so far back in my head I thought they'd get stuck. One was actually downright annoying and doesn't it figure that it was the longest one of the night? grr

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!