Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

detouring from the detour

2006-02-23 - 8:44 a.m.

Five minutes before I was supposed to leave work to race downtown for dinner I got a call from one of the girls I was to meet. She told me the main highway into the city from where I work was shut down.

Gah

The spot where it was shut down was so close to the city that none of my usual alternates would work. Thus began my ridiculously circuitous detouring. Partway through I had to detour from the detour so I wouldn't run out of gas on the side of the highway. I nearly gave up since I knew I would be freakishly late but L wouldn't let me give up. The girls convinced the restaurant to find us a later table and they spent some time lingering over mojitos at the bar until I finally got there, 45 minutes late.

Dinner was wonderful. Had always wanted to try Alma de Cuba and, this being restaurant week, there was a special $30/3-course menu. The shrimp and avocado ceviche was positively brilliant. The salmon with banana and lentils quite good and the pineapple flan finished off the meal as beautifully as the eyes of the busboy. ;)

A lost coatcheck tag and more traffic going home kept the stress level from disappearing completely but it was a fun, if exhausting day.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!