Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

and the little oops becomes a big oops

2006-03-09 - 11:30 p.m.

Don't ya just hate love when one little problem snowballs and suddenly you're blowing your savings to handle the damage control?

Locked myself out of the house tonight. (Yes, I know, before you say it...yes, I should hide a key somewhere and I didn't so let's move on.)

I knew the back door was weak as it was already on my list to eventually get around to replacing the door and frame. So I decided to try breaking through that one. I managed to split the doorframe to get the door open (yes, that's what I was trying to do...limited options). But I couldn't get through the chain. I didn't want to try pushing the frame any harder because the kitchen cabinet was rattling like mad...obviously it was somehow attached to the door frame.

So I got a neighbor to bring over some tools to help me break the chain. He didn't hear what I said about the cabinet. After working at the chain for a minute he said, "Why don't I just..." and BLAM he pushed the door all the way, busted the rest of the frame off and CRASH, down came the kitchen cabinet.

Lost about 2/3 of the glassware/coffee cups that were in there. Luckily it was only the cheap stuff...none of the crystal or anything.

So now I'm having a dinner party tomorrow night with a cabinet in the middle of the kitchen floor and the back door so permanently secured to hold me until I can get it fixed that it's now lost its qualification as a "door" and is now more of a "wall."

But the house smells of a just-baked chocolate rum cake and dinner's already partially started. There are cosmos to be had so who's gonna care?

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!