Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

2006-03-20 the weekend

2006-03-20 - 11:52 a.m.

Friday night's plans to get together with B fizzled out due to schedules and conflicts and piss-poor selections of flicks at the local theaters and by the time we were trying to work up the motivation...Netflix won out. So I holed up and watched the fabulous Chungking Express and then the 40-year-old Virgin, which actually was funny as hell. Liked their improv and the extras had plenty more goofiness that was worth seeing.

Saturday I continued the strategy of blowing off the previously scheduled plans. This time it was building the garden. My neck was sore so I decided hauling around bags of heavy soil alternatives and lumber might not be the best way to heal. Instead I headed downtown for the auditions for the Pitch fest that will be at the film festival in a couple of weeks. Heard most of the pitches (people have 2 minutes to pitch their movie idea to a panel), then there was wine/snack time as the judges discussed the pitches and chose the winners. I was propelled out the door by an expired meter and a few of us ended up at Standard Tap for the requisite beer and squid. Mmm. Tried the hedonism this time...lovely. And a Yards pale ale was pretty darned good too. Home and watched Bus 174 before blacking out.

Sunday I did squeeze in a couple of errands, dishes and a load of laundry. Neck was still fussy so I headed off to play board games with 20-some folks downtown. Great people, lots of fun...fell in love with Catch Phrase. Then met up with MD and B at McShea's for a bite and a catchup.

In between all that, I got together most of my film festival plans and read a bunch of Murakami stories. And got through Target with a two-digit receipt (miracle!).

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!