Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

100 things

2006-03-23 - 11:42 p.m.

1. I keep a picnic blanket and a kite in my trunk all the time.
2. When I was a kid I once snorted salt. I just wasn�t willing to drop a joke without the follow through.
3. I used to volunteer in the ER at Children�s Hospital in DC.
4. I love dressing up in scary costumes and makeup. I�ve been in countless haunted houses and got my head chopped off at a haunted hayride.
5. I�ve been surfing the web since browsers were text-based. That�s right kids, there were no images. It still beat the pants off modem to modem connections and BBSes.
6. My first real crush was the kid in first grade who made funny faces at me when we had to put our heads down on our desks before lunchtime.
7. In high school I once dented my locker with my head. Didn�t do much for my head either.
8. When I got my B.A. I graduated summa cum laude.
9. My first cell phone had a cord and a carrying case. It wasn�t all that long ago either.
10. My first concert was Billy Joel.
11. When I was a kid I used to eat Light Bright pegs and paper. Construction paper was the best. Little by little I eventually made my way through a giant paper spider we made as a craft in school.
12. I once crossed an ocean for a date.
13. I have a hard time passing up a gumball machine without getting a gumball. I don�t even particularly like them all that much. I think I�m buying them in honor of the young me who always begged Mom for the two pennies for the gumball machine when we were in line at the grocery store.
14. I also love to leave quarters in gumball machines sometimes just to make some kid�s day when they find it.
15. My first job was at a Baskin-Robbins.
16. My second job was at NASA.
17. I once broke a toe on Valentine�s Day, racing for the telephone (it wasn�t him).
18. I spent a Christmas in the ER getting my thumb stitched up after an incident with a big package and a sharp pair of scissors.
19. I spent one Halloween dressed as a butterfly in West Palm Beach.
20. I spent one Thanksgiving at a rock concert in a former church in Amsterdam.
21. I have spent only one Easter, one Thanksgiving and no Christmases away from my family.
22. When I was a kid I thought the Eagles were singing, �There�s gonna be a hard egg tonight.� I didn�t understand why they�d write a song about that.
23. I�ve had one poem published.
24. My photos were published before my words.
25. I was once serenaded in Central Park.
26. My first date took me to see a Sylvester Stallone movie. His friends threw gummy bears at us.
27. I went to my junior prom and to the senior prom both my sophomore and senior years.
28. I once pulled a full Marilyn Monroe in Farragut Square, DC. The sidewalk vent blew my full navy and white polka dot skirt all the way up to show my red underwear. No, I didn�t intend that. These days I hold onto my skirts when I cross vents.
29. I am an NPR junkie.
30. I am something like an 8th cousin to Florence Nightingale.
31. The first time I ever sang solo in public was singing C�etait Toi (Billy Joel) in French class in high school. The teacher promised a little extra credit if we wrote something or a LOT of extra credit if we�d perform. I was the only one who had the guts to do it.
32. I have watched one baby being born.
33. I have held one person�s hand while she died.
34. When I moved out on my own I was making $5/hr.
35. I married when I was 20. That�s right, I wasn�t even legal to drink our champagne toast.
36. The sound of auto racing is one of the most relaxing sounds in the world to me.
37. I once celebrated my birthday by jumping out of a plane.
38. I got the flu in New Orleans.
39. I have never been to a strip club or watched a live stripper (male or female).
40. I�ve been proposed to twice.
41. I alphabetize my cds. I am not good about putting them back after I�ve played them.
42. I have been under general anesthesia three times.
43. I love exploring cities from their waterways.
44. Back in the days of temporary blue hair and other punkish looks, I once saw an old woman grab her purse tightly and skitter away from me in a store.
45. The only thing I ever shoplifted was a piece of candy from the Brach�s Pick-a-Mix when I was a kid. I felt so guilty about it I couldn�t even eat it.
46. My first albums other than kid music were a few given to me from my Mom�s collection�The Monkees, Black Sabbath and Johnny Mathis.
47. I have a scar in the center of my back I got from the tall stack-spindle in the middle of a record player.
48. I spent a short time on tour with a rock band (not performing�just along for the ride).
49. I rode the carousel in Central Park as an adult.
50. I once pissed off Tom Cruise.
51. Twice I have met someone in recurring dreams and then met them in real life (though the dreams themselves didn�t come true).
52. I once fainted in a hospital, face first into a door handle.
53. I have been skinnydipping in a bioluminescent bay (during a full moon no less).
54. I love the feeling of falling.
55. I don�t know how to skate.
56. I have never been skiing (and probably never will).
57. I always wanted to join the Peace Corps.
58. I would love to live in New York City.
59. I have a deep and abiding love for pudding.
60. I have painted my own interpretations of two Picasso paintings.
61. I�ve never registered as a democrat because I don�t believe in the two party system. But in the current political climate I�m thinking I might have to give in on that principle.
62. I was grounded so much in high school my boyfriend wrote me letters.
63. Despite how #62 sounds, I was ridiculously well behaved.
64. I had mono for something like 8 or 9 months. I dropped to 117 lbs (and I�m 5�10�).
65. I can�t stand the smell of artificial watermelon flavoring.
66. I adore Brussels sprouts.
67. I used to sleep with a sword above my bed (and, for a short time, with one in it).
68. I once played strip bullshit.
69. I love playing board games.
70. I never lived alone until I moved to PA.
71. I just joined an organic farm (like a CSA).
72. I spent one night in Paris but never saw the sights.
73. French song lyrics and memorized fables are little help when arguing with a cab driver in Paris.
74. I was 33 before I saw my first show on Broadway.
75. I adore music and adore theater but rarely like musicals.
76. I have a real thing for biplanes but have only ridden in one.
77. My grandfather once dressed up as Dracula to scare me. It worked. I hid behind a barstool and screamed my head off.
78. I once got picked up by a girl on the Metro�and didn�t know it until our second date.
79. I volunteer recording textbooks onto cds for the blind and learning disabled.
80. I was pulled over the first time I was out driving by myself at night (but only got a warning).
81. I had my first cigarette and my first tequila shot in Chicago.
82. I used to have a secret clearance.
83. I want to drive on a racetrack at least once.
84. I don�t think I�ve ever driven over 90 mph.
85. I took piano lessons for several years, though through much of that I didn�t have a piano on which to practice.
86. I am a contralto.
87. I am an atheist.
88. I have one sister.
89. I once had my apartment building burn down.
90. I come from a family of firefighters.
91. I am an apple devotee (ibook, old-style imac, ipod)
92. My first computer was a Commodore 64�with a datasette instead of a disc drive.
93. I have bought more copies of Kahlil Gibran�s The Prophet than any other book.
94. I once worked two full-time jobs at the same time -- in two different cities.
95. I keep colored Christmas lights strung around my living room year-round.
96. I am a mad procrastinator.
97. I still love to be told bedtime stories.
98. I sing in the car but not in the shower.
99. I stopped biting my nails when I started volunteering at the hospital.
100. When I was a kid, I once bit my sister during a fight.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!