Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

someone's in the kitchen with veralynn

2006-03-28 - 1:03 p.m.

Late morning yesterday I was sitting at my desk, struggling to keep my eyelids open. I realized it was only partly due to sleepiness; I had also forgotten to take my allergy meds in the morning.

So in the interests of waking myself the heck up, taking my meds and giving myself something interesting to do over lunch hour, I decided to head home and spend lunchtime throwing together some big one-pot meal in the crockpot to have for dinner and the rest of the week.

I got into the kitchen and started digging things out of the cabinets. I diced an onion and threw it into the cast iron pan to saute. I remembered I had a minced head of garlic in the fridge, so threw in some of that. Black turtle beans and beluga lentils looked good, so I rinsed them and threw them in the crockpot. Ooh! homemade veggie stock in the freezer so that came out and spent entirely too long defrosting in the microwave. After a can of diced tomatoes, a bottle of beer and tons of spices made their way into the pot I started trying to decide just what I was making.

Ok, maybe you cook in a somewhat different order.

I decided it was some sort of cross between black bean soup and chili. I stripped an ear of sweet corn and dumped the kernels in with the rest, finished doctoring up the spices, shrugged and determined I was finished.

At that point I still needed lunch. I smeared a little abbruzze spread onto a sourdough roll and threw that into the toaster oven to get crispy and melty-wondrous while I got some tempeh sizzling in the pan. Even managed to dig up some greens to top the whole sandwich off. Simple but ridiculously good.

I love cooking.

The soupish/chili-ish thing turned out pretty well. Good thing, too as I'll be eating it forever. At least it's clear to see why I find it hard to cook for just myself. My dishes have a tendency of getting carried away and growing as I'm cooking.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!