Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

baby needs a new trio of shoes

2006-03-29 - 6:44 p.m.

Today was so screamingly beautiful I had to get out in the sun at lunch. Figured it'd be a perfect day to finally wash the last of the summer crud off the car. No coat, windows down, sunroof open...my kind of day.

Cruised the beauty into the car wash where they usually make a big deal about her. This time they made a big deal about my tire. Seems I have a big bubble on my tire. Well, damn.

Of course my car has ridiculously expensive performance tires. Aw, damn. (I know I said that, but it's worth a second)

So when I got back to the office I looked up the problem on the net to see how urgently I needed the tire replaced and discovered that yes, it definitely couldn't be repaired and really needed to be replaced. Phoo (decided to mix it up instead of another damn there for you. Just because I care)

Quick call to the shop and they said sure, they could put a new tire on her this afternoon...but that I'd have to get there by three. So much for a busy afternoon editing.

Got there and they said they could even squeeze in the oil change and such while they were at it. I pulled out my trusty red pen and slashed up a spectacularly long and mis-aimed article while they were working. Sheepishly the guy behind the counter came out to tell me that they were gonna have to replace THREE tires. Two have bubbles and one was essentially bald. (I know you know what's coming next...) DAMN.

Alright. I watched my disposable income preparing itself to be flushed down the Hyundai dealer's toilet and kept red-penning. (It's a nice pen, too, smooth ink, good flow, so it wasn't all bad)

Then he comes out, even more reluctantly this time, and says that they can't get the tires in until tomorrow. Not even just the original one.

So the point in my leaving work to come in today was???

So now tires are on order, my afternoon's booked again tomorrow and I stayed late at work finishing up the edits on the article. Final cut was from over 1,700 words to 577. DAMN. I am at least putting most of the rest of it up online as a follow-up piece for more detail. But what's the point in her asking about deadline, word count, and intent of the article if she ignored all three??

Harumph.

Got home and did a little minor cleaning up around the place. Listening to the next door neighbor's vile dog barking for the 5th night in the last week and a half. He doesn't just bark for a few minutes. Once he starts, it's HOURS. I can't believe we're back to this AGAIN.

Leaving now for some fun though. A friend's back in town on her spring break and is playing what should be a darned nifty gig at a place I like. And...free! Wahoo. One of my favorite drummers is playing with her, too. Meeting a few friends there for dinner, drinks and tunes so what am I doing staring at this little white box? 'Night!

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!