Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Devouring the words and picking over dinner

2006-04-10 - 4:07 p.m.

Post-taxes last night I finally polished off the last of Memoirs of a Geisha. Wonderful book! And dozed off for a quick nap with the cats, who were all too willing to have me join them in naptime.

As I made dinner I started reading Nick Hornby's The Polysyllabic Spree. And, bibliojunkie that I am, I finished it before I headed to bed. An indulgence in words.

Dinner was pasta with peas and shrimp, dressed with olive oil, garlic, basil and parmesan. As I stood over the pot of boiling pasta, adding in the frozen peas, I got a flashback to my past.

When I was 18 and first moved out on my own, I was truly struggling. I was making $5/hour when I first moved out. I managed to swing some raises but still had to watch my money extremely tightly so I could buy a car and have a hope of getting to a real job.

I remember grocery shopping in that time, struggling to bring down the cost of a bag of groceries as far as possible. My most common dinner was pasta with peas. Typically egg noodles as they were cheapest. Dirt-cheap way to survive. We bought kool-aid for drinks around the house because it was cheap, lightweight to carry home, and somebody else paid for the sugar.

I got a credit card with the tiniest credit limit possible so I could start establishing some credit in my name. I was still working at the ice cream shop when I bought myself a very used Oldsmobile and I got a secret co-signer for the loan since I still wouldn't qualify on my own. Hell, I don't blame the bank...I was still wearing pink uniform shirts and a brown, polyester apron to work each day.

So a boiling pot of pasta and peas still brings me right back there, even now when I'm dressing it up with the luxury of cheap, frozen shrimp.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!