Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

case of the missing cat

2006-04-23 - 8:34 p.m.

Today the weather finally cleared enough that I could attack the jungle the backyard had become. But of course there's a complicating factor...I still haven't replaced the back door, so I still can't use it. And since there's no power outlet outside I have to run the extension cord out the back from the kitchen.

So I decided to loosen the screen in the kitchen window and run the cord through there. Weedwacking the yard is always energy-sapping, particularly when it's high enough a scythe would be an effective tool. In loosening the screen I discovered it was missing one screw and made a mental note to find one the right size to put back in. And of course I had to lug the weedwacker out the front, down the block, around the corner to get in my yard the back way. I live in the middle of a block of row houses with no alleyway.

Well, a while later I was catching up on email in the living room and heard an unholy yowling from the big cat. It wasn't the "leave me alone, kitten" meow...this one meant business. I wondered if there was an animal in the yard or something and roamed the house, hollering for him. Finally I discovered that he was howling from the back yard.

Yup, his fat butt was sitting in the kitchen window and managed to push open the screen and fall out. He was most unenthusiastic about this situation.

I threw on some shoes, grabbed a cat carrier and headed back around the block to get the cat out of the backyard.

He was all puffed up and pissed off. He flat refused to get in the carrier, so I had to boost him up to the window and help him crawl in while I held the screen open for him. Goof.

He did at least welcome me with cuddles and a rousing "for she's a jolly good fellow" when I came back around to the front door.

And then I had to do the march around for the third time of the day so I could replace the missing screw. I hope my tax refund comes in soon so I can get this darned door replaced!

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!