Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Volvo Ocean Race

2006-05-07 - 11:05 p.m.

Today I was here. I've never seen anything like it.

We ended up right in the middle of it. We'd figured all the spectators would be neatly tucked into rows outside the course area but nope...one of the ABN Amro boats tacked way the heck out and came up behind us...spectators, racers, and even a passing barge were all knotted together in one throng on waters that kept getting choppier and choppier from all the criscrossed wakes.

I took Mom's digital camera up forward so I could lean against the mast and hold myself wedged in place with a foot against one of the stays to brace myself against the waves. It really was a beautiful, exciting thing to witness.

Later we got to put the sails up for a little while and enjoy the first sailing of the year. I've got a slight tinge of sunburn, my lips feel a little windburned, I'm stuffed full of snack foods and even after the drive back to PA I'm still feeling just the slightest rocking of waves.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!