Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

yet another cooking entry

2006-05-11 - 9:05 a.m.

For the first time in ages I cooked up a huge dinner last night, from which I will be eating for days. I never really have gotten the hang of cooking for just one or two people. I don't quite know how that happened; that's usually the number of people I'm feeding, but no matter my intentions, I typically wind up with enough to feed 6-8.

Last night I came home, flung open the door and was greeted with the wondrous smell of freshly baking bread. Heaven. It filled the house with a soft, warm, yeasty scent. After a quick shower to cool down and a peeling-away of the corporate clothes, I settled into something light and comfortable and headed back into the kitchen, bare feet plodding on the tile. Within minutes, the smells of onions, peppers, garlic, celery and veggie sausage were joining the yeast smell for an aroma that was a meal unto itself. About an hour later I pulled a huge pot of finished jambalaya from the oven. It's far milder than I usually make, but it's good. It's jambalaya...that's its job.

Today I've actually got leftovers with me for lunch. I make no apologies for the stampede that will ensue when I reheat.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!