Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Weekend roundup

2006-05-16 - 2:56 p.m.

Here it is Tuesday and I still haven't gotten to a proper weekend roundup.

Friday night was a beautiful evening and four of us had dinner on a balcony on South Street complete with summery cocktails and plenty of laughter. Off to the TLA for They Might Be Giants. The poor guy who opened was turned down to such a low volume you couldn't really hear him over the crowd. Hard for a boy and his eukelele to make much of an impression on a post-happy hour crowd all abuzz for TMBG. The second openers, Last Car, had a storming opening song about Mister T that got the crowd all warmed up. It turned out to be the first of three Mister T songs they scattered through their set, so they won us all over. TMBG were great and fun and of course got stuck in my head all weekend.

Saturday I threw together a real breakfast and coffee and then was startled by the doorbell. It turned out to be delivery of a dozen gorgeous roses with chocolates and a beatiful note (Yes, I can hear the chorus of awwwwwwww from here).

Did some cooking and headed to MD for Mother's Day dinner at my sister's. We grilled out and relaxed on their deck for a leisurely meal.

Sunday morning I made french press coffee and cinnamon raisin french toast topped off with hot diced apples in caramelly sauce. Heaven.

We made a bit of a tragic choice of DVDs to watch. We picked The Family Stone. Considering that it was Mother's Day it was already a hard enough day for my stepdad, who was thinking plenty about his late mother. We really didn't need any extra salt in that wound, so we turned the movie off in the middle and switched to the fluffy Rumor Has It instead.

Last night spent a cozy evening at E's, snuggling on the couch with wine, pizza, a movie, and the book of 10,000 Places to Go Before You Die, swapping stories of where we've been and where we want to go. We'll be dining at one of them Memorial Day weekend in Savannah. Aaaah. :)

Today at lunch I got a burst of productivity. I went home, sorted through my huge stack of paperwork into bills/filing/other/trash and got most of my bills caught up. Will be so nice to not have to do that this weekend.

Enough rambles. More interesting content next time, I promise. :)

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!