Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

the weekend that was

2006-06-18 - 10:45 p.m.

It's been an...interesting(?) weekend.

I was poked and prodded and ultrasounded and left in exam rooms too long by myself and it seems I'll have to have some minor surgery sometime later this summer that, while not really a big deal, really is screwing with my summer plans between that and the Australia trip just--PLUNK!--there in the middle of all the busy days of Fun Things To Do that I will be missing.(phew! sorry for the runons, but that's the sorta day it was)

Then errands and chai tea and finally some cousin time with margaritas to perk the weekend back up into a better direction again.

Saturday was my (step)dad's birthday, so we headed out on the sailboat for a gorgeous afternoon and evening on the bay. The wind was good and still cool despite the 90 degree heat. We barbecued in their favorite cove and then motored back home for presents and cake. We sat up late watching Eddie Izzard, all of us trying hard to keep our eyelids at least half-raised. Finally we had to give up before the end and fall into our beds.

Crashed hard for the night and spent a little more time with the folks in the morning. Drove back up to PA, cleaned up the kitchen whipped up a tortellini salad with plenty of fresh veggies, took care of the backyard jungle in the roasting sun and then enjoyed a welcome cool shower. Headed into Philly for friends, beer, squid and some wondrously spicy chilled tomato corn soup and a showing of The Proposition. Now it's just me, the cats and the joys of the ceiling fan.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!