Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Can we really change the world?

2006-06-27 - 10:17 a.m.

I just got an email from a friend that was sparked by Warren Buffett's announcement. As he put it, he's a child of the 60s and once thought we could change the world, but heavy doses of personal and global smacks in the face eventually made him feel that changing the world really isn't possible.

But now...despite the very dark places our country and globe are in, it sounds like this pessimist is beginning to wonder if these sorts of positive undertakings are legitimate glimmers of hope that we can turn things around or if they're mere mirages. He launched the discussion among our group, "Don't tell me I'm a romantic, idealistic nut ball. I already know that. Just tell me what you think. And, it's crazy, but can we still save the world?"

Rather than responding by email, I figured I'd do it here since I'd love to hear your opinions as well.

To anyone who knows me, it's no secret that I'm an activist optimist. Beyond an optimistic outlook, I've always felt it was my responsibility to dig in and in some way, make enough positive difference that the world's better off for having me in it than not. It's a little like earning my keep.

This mission's taken different forms throughout my life. As a child I tutored younger kids. I've vowed to devote my life to helping the earth and her children and wear a symbol to remind myself of that vow as one would wear a wedding band. I vote and write letters to my representatives. I've run service groups, taught programs to inspire kids to the same mission, I volunteer regularly, plan my company's volunteerism, choose my jobs based on their impact and of course give to charities.

I've never felt like I'm doing enough and have always longed to drop out and go somewhere to volunteer full-time. I've yet to figure out a way to be able to afford to do that. And often, as I watch the dark paths of disease, violence, hunger, hatred and depletion, I've wondered if there's any real point to trying.

But yes, I believe we really can change the world. Along my way I am meeting more and more people who don't just care about the state of the world, but are willing to put their feet into action and do something about it. People who are starting businesses to help causes they believe in. People who write about what they believe in. People who are willing to make radical changes in their lives to make a difference.

And, what's more, I think those numbers will only increase. From the research I've heard, the "millenial" generation is just what we need. Overall, they're pretty fed up with the world they've been handed *and* are motivated to do something about it. They're incredibly informed, well-networked and inspired to change things both through their own actions and through their refusal to put up with companies and individuals who don't walk the talk. They won't work for or support companies without active social responsibility programs or those that are polluting the environment. Instead, they're spreading the word across the internet to others to expose their actions.

We're in an age of transparency when it's much harder to hide the truth and pull off nastiness behind closed doors. Odds are that before long, you'll be exposed and pressured by the public to clean up your act.

And I believe that more than just reducing some of the harm that this will also increase the power to effect positive change. The more that people come to identify as members of the global community more strongly than they identify as only members of their communities, states and nations, the more we will feel the necessity of addressing global needs. If we truly understand that we're all in it together, we can't morally turn a blind eye to problems that lie halfway around the world. With the state of air travel, the internet, cellular and satellite technology, even with global communications companies, I think we are increasingly coming to understand that we cannot remain isolated and that we cannot isolate problems.

Whether the threats are AIDS, starvation, pandemic, global warming, or massive disasters, more and more people are coming to understand that we can't hide our heads in the sand.

Now the challenges are to figure out how to inspire action, organize it and prioritize it to make the most impact. And I think that's why Warren Buffet made his choice to let the Gates Foundation take control of so much of his fortune...because he knows that the effort will be focused, organized and effective. We need to each sort out individually what our piece is.

And, if you've not yet done so, I'd heartily recommend you get out and see An Inconvenient Truth.

And then go do something about it.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!