Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

The Heavy Duties

2006-06-29 - 9:42 a.m.

Since my surgery's tomorrow I spent last night trying to finish up all the heavy work that's got to be done around the house for awhile.

Like the rest of the Northeast, we've got tons of flooding issues around so, as usual, I got puddles in the basement. By comparison I made out easy, so I sure can't complain about puddles. Now the wet/dry vac--THAT I can complain about. Broke in my new one last night. I must say it's not all that helpful when you're sucking up water with one end and it's shooting a spray of it back out the vent in the back. I didn't realize they sold trick wet/dry vacs. They must come from the same aisle as the whoopie cushions and fake plastic vomit.

(Yes, I know a few of you are probably now humming some radiohead and for that, I apologize. I'd hate to ruin a wondrous song like that for you.)

After basement escapades I headed out back to take advantage of a rare burst of clear weather to knock down the yard jungle. I unfortunately was in such a rush to get everything done that I decided not to bother putting on long pants, so I now have two dozen bug bites scattered about my limbs. I apparently never will learn, no.

Since Tuesday was pickup day for the CSA, there were bags of fresh produce calling me from the fridge so after a quick shower I whipped up a mean combo of two kinds of kale, some turnip greens and garlic chives to keep a veggie burger company. Just a little splash of oil, some Prudhomme's seasoning salt and a squeeze of lemon juice made them extraordinary.

Barely put down my fork when it was time to head off to Target. Amazingly I got only what I had on my list and made it out in less than 30 minutes and, better still, less than $30.

Next up, I realized I should prep some of those veggies to take to my folks' place with me for recoup time or they'd not be edible by the time I return. So I prepped a pile of snow peas and ended up making a teriyaki snowpea stirfry with vidalia onions, scallions, broccoli and zucchini. Figured if I left it pretty crunchy it should reheat okay for a few good meals or sides.

Took me forever to settle down last night and get some sleep. Listened to stories as I drifted off...one of my favorite ways to get to sleep.

Today I've got to tie up work and the house and head on down to MD. And the obnoxious bit: I'm not allowed to eat dinner. Just clear liquids (and alas vodka doesn't count. Pout.)

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!