Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Just pretend like you meant it to look that way

2006-07-10 - 4:45 p.m.

I was just reading the Complicated Hair Feelings of Mimi Smartypants. It seems I'm not the only chica who missed out on the gene that lets you magically whip up that piecey hair-do into a casual, dare I say kicky (no, in fact, I do not dare) hairstyle that manages to look like you just fell out of bed and also are in a bit of a wind-tunnel, but like it.

I have a variety of hair products. I have a round brush and a blowdryer. I have at least kindergarten-level mastery of these objects. But I still can't make my hair do anything like the stylist did the day I got the cut.

What I've recently come to realize is that hairstyling isn't necessarily making your hair look how you want it to look. It can look smooth or frizzy or can stand at attention, but the trick is just to make it look like the way it appears is exactly how you intended it to look.

I can put on the deep-conditioning shine stuff, the styling gel, work all my blow-dry and brushing magic and it's still going to do essentially what it wanted to do in the first place. But I've recently discovered that once it's dry, if I put a little gel/hair lotion/whatever in my hands and randomly work it through my hair, it looks more intentional than if I left it alone.

Why yes, THANK YOU for noticing that I'm sporting the Buckwheat look today.

Oh and yes, yesterday was Alfalfa's cowlick. Yes, I'm sort of delivering my homage to the classic characters of television and film.

Mmmmhmm I expect tomorrow will be Marge Simpson day.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!