Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Another food entry...quinoa skillet

2006-07-11 - 10:22 a.m.

Most of my favorite meals are a result of opening up the fridge and throwing a meal together as I go. Last night was no exception.

I detail this here as much for my own memory as for anyone else's potential interest. 'Cause I would happily make some version of this any old time.

Sunday night I'd thrown together a cheap and quick quinoa with black beans and frozen mixed veggies. Last night there was enough of that left for a side-dish, but I decided instead to expand it and turn it into a main dish again.

So I heated up a big skillet and started pan-frying a zucchini while I par-cooked some new potatoes for 2 minutes in the microwave, then added them into the skillet with some pepper and seasonings. While they started mingling and getting groovy, I beat two eggs and chopped up some spinach. There was enough room to shove the veg to the side, cover it with the spinach so it could wilt, and still scramble the egg on the other side of the pan. Finally, in went the quinoa mixture and a sprinkling of soy sauce, which really pulled the whole dish together. Heaven. One dirty pan and enough food for dinner and today's lunch.

For dessert I was truly decadent. I sliced up two small peaches from the produce market into a bowl and microwaved them with a sprinkling of brown sugar. It was like crustless pie.

And tonight we're getting this week's produce from the farm. Just in time!

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!