Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

That's my what?

2006-07-15 - 10:44 p.m.

Interesting day.

I received prints of the most private pictures ever taken of me. And no, they're not sexy unless you want to get to know the inside of me in a freakishly graphic way. In which case, dude, I so don't want to know.

I had time to kill in the afternoon so stopped off in College Park. I hit some of my old hippie hangouts...the herb shop (which is really also as much the hippie clothes/new age books/candles/vitamins/essential oils/overpriced gifty bits store...and lunch at the vegetarian cafe. It used to be a teensy hole in the back of a health food store, but now the whole thing is just one veggie cafe. The falafel and carrot juice were good, though I'm still aching for a falafel at Max's, the definitive, wondrous spot in Wheaton, MD that unfortunately is closed on Saturdays.

Still more time to kill so I spread a blanket at a pond just a couple of miles from the home where I grew up. I read, I dozed, I swatted a bazillion biting and creepy crawling things off me. I later cooled down with an iced coffee and more reading at Sbux.

Whilst picking up some goodies to take to the family party, I witnessed an argument in the express line at the supermarket. Apparently one woman had been repeatedly knocking into the woman in front of her with her cart. When the hittee said something to the hitter, all hell broke loose. They cursed each other out and then instead of just mild ass-bumping with the cart, it was slammed into the hittee so hard she nearly fell over. Freakish. They were out of control and their checker just laughed as it all unfolded. What the hell is worth getting into such a tizzy at the supermarket? We're far too stressy a society.

Got some long-overdue family catchup time in at the party, as well as a dose of kid-time. There were two babies and a coupla fabulous little kids. I can't even remember the last time I got to hold a baby. I need to do that now and again. Just 'cause I don't want to manufacture one of my own doesn't mean it isn't an amazing thing to interact with a teensy person.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!