Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

kitchen OCD

2006-07-26 - 4:16 p.m.

I guess I've always known I am a little bit picky about my preferences for dishware, silverware and the like. But until I read Sundry's original inquiry into her husband's bowl issue or the followup after all the readers shared our own bowl and silverware issues, I suppose I didn't really look at the extent of my anal qualities in this area. (Let me firmly state here that one requirement is that anal ANYTHING should be kept far, far from dishware and silverware, thankyouverymuch).

A few of my quirks:


  • For cereal, soup or such, I need high sides to that bowl, baby. Something along the lines of a big latte mugbowl would be perfect enough to make me shiver in delight. I don't like potential for the liquids to slosh onto or over the rim.

  • For almost any meal, I prefer pasta bowls to plates. I rarely use my dinner plates unless I have company over.

  • Spoons: The big (table) spoons really only get used for serving or for cat food. I particularly dislike flat-bowled spoons for things like soup and overall, the things are just too darned wide to use gracefully. I bought four old silver soup spoons at a thrift store for about 50 cents apiece that I adore and use for darned near everything. They don't match the rest of my flatware (or each other) but I don't care.

  • I use dessert forks instead of dinner forks unless I need to twist pasta or something.

  • I have certain glasses I use depending on the sort of drink.

  • I play favorites on pans. Some will never be pulled from the cabinet unless I am utterly desperate. They're all good pans, that's not the issue, but there they sit in a corner in the dark).

  • Saucers? pheh, yeah, don't use 'em unless someone's over. Which, considering my klutziness level, you'd think I'd be all about the spill protection.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!