Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

lost and found...with bonus kitchen exploits

2006-08-17 - 3:34 p.m.

Got my lost luggage back yesterday, but I had to leave work and burn almost seven hours waiting for it. So raced BACK to the office again and stayed late so I could get in a reasonable amount of work for the day. Not exactly an ideal way to come back from vacation.

Today's been a blur again and I expect that to continue for at least another week. At least this should keep me out of trouble, eh?

More kitchen playtime (or: Fire in the hole!)
Tuesday night I decided to try out some fish tacos. Cut a basa fillet into strips and dredged it in whole wheat flour kicked up with chili powder, red pepper, turmeric and cilantro. Fried those up and ate them on corn tortillas with cabbage, carrot, bell peppers and peach salsa. Delicious. They'll surely go into heavy rotation in my kitchen.

I prepped up a big taco salad to take for lunches at work, then B came by later so I threw together some veggie tacos for him, tossing some black beans, peppers and seasonings with some adobo sauce and salsa. He said they were so hot he could barely eat them. Figures...I almost always taste as I go, but didn't this time. Apparently the chipotles I used this time are WAY hotter than the ones I usually use. Holy cannoli. Tried some today on the taco salad and it was even spicier than I wanted. Learned my lesson!

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!