Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Fringetastic Sketchtacular

2006-09-08 - 10:18 a.m.

Last night I finally went to my first Philly Fringe event. Yeah, I've lived here for five years and yeah, I've been meaning to go ever since then but no, it just somehow never worked out.

Two of my wondrous girlyfriends and I met up at Sugarmoms. It's this wondrous little divey-looking-but-not-really-divey bar in the basement of what used to be a sugar factory. There were cheap beers and even cheaper veggie burgers to be had, so it's high on my list of favorite places. Plus they have a whole collection of robots around the bar and postcards of robots and often scatter the place with toys you can play with as you drink. Whee! And, for those who partake, they serve corndogs, too. I can't tell you how much I like that there is a place that serves corndogs and beer, even though I don't eat corndogs*. I'm not quite sure what it says about me, but it's second best to a place that would, say, give you a free slinky with every beer. Just sayin'.

After diner, we cruised over to an art gallery that was hosting the Fringetastic Sketchtacular 3**. There was much silly sketch comedy to be had, both live and on video. It made me miss ...And the Prune Bran Players oh, so much. Snuffle. But it also made me laugh myself silly. What else could I do when confronted with a tall, lanky whiteboy in a shirt and tie playing Fifty Cent doing a commercial for Ovaltine? Comedy gold, I tell ya.

More Fringe activity tonight. Fridays are beautiful things.


* In fact, the menu clarifies that these are corndogs ON A STICK. Because they come any other way? Hmm.

** Which made me really wish I'd seen sketchtaculars one and two.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!