Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

derby time

2006-09-11 - 10:42 p.m.

This was a darned fine weekend all around. Friday night kicked off with a trip downtown with the girls. We tried out a French bistro my boss recommended, Caribou Cafe. I had the most blissfully perfect salmon timbale. Shredded salmon with bits of smoked salmon, creme fraiche, herbs...all wrapped up with smoked salmon. Wowza. Lovely greeny beanies on the side and some wine...just right. Off to a Philly Fringe play that was a great idea but slow and uneven in the execution. Still, a nice evening.

Saturday I got to play catchup a little. Laundry, errands, library and such. Even put in a little stoopsitting time with my neighbor and had a nice chat sitting there, elbow to elbow in the dark with the strains of Gnarls Barkley and some drunken hooting and hollering coming from the party across the street.

Sunday a gorgeous brunch at Sabrina's Cafe and wander through the Italian Market. Off to pick up L and go for a walk in Valley Green. After some exercise, laughs and great advice, I dropped her back home and headed off to meet up with B, M and their gang for the sporting event of the season. You thought I was wild and crazy for hitting the rodeo, but hold onto your tailfeathers. Last night was the Philly Roller Girls roller derby championship!

It was my first time at a roller derby and was one amazing time. The event itself was fascinating, fast-paced, rowdy and...did I mention it was a bunch of fishnet-clad hot chicks in knee pads? Hello! The crowd was also some of the all-time finest people-watching I've ever had the pleasure to witness.

On a game break, we headed back to the car for a reprise of the tailgating. On the way there I'd made a comment to a friend about needing to find a hot goth chick and then wham! There was one walking by our group, trying to find her friends who'd promised her a beer. I told her we could take care of that and we ended up all flirting shamelessly over the roller girl with the hoops in her bottom lip and the two pair of pale contact lenses obscuring her eyes. Well, ok, maybe not ALL of us flirted shamelessly, but, um, yeah. Whatever.

I'd definitely go see a roller derby again. In fact, there's one coming up next month that's an all-star game of the top Philly girls vs. the top NYC girls. That might just find its way into my schedule. :)

And now, even more than I already did, I really want to learn to skate. Though wow, I don't want to be a roller girl. I'd be diving out of the way with some of those chicks coming at me! :) I've already got enough of the klutz gene on my own. I don't need any extra help to get thrown to the ground and run over with eight wheels.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!