Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Strong to the Finitch

2006-09-14 - 1:33 p.m.

Today I tried to donate blood but flunked my hematocrit test by one percentage point. Phoo. I've been borderline before but typically just squeak by. So all I got was a waste of time and a botched fingerstick.

On my lunch hour I decided to poke about the web for iron-related nutrition info again. I've certainly looked up lists of iron-rich foods before. I try to pay attention because I'm nearly veggie (seafood is the only meat I eat) so I try to make sure I get iron and protein.

But what I'd not realized until today is that I need to get almost DOUBLE the amount of iron as other women my age because of the low bioavailability in non-heme iron sources. Well, give me that V-8 forehead smack 'cause I never realized that. I was working to try to make sure I hit a target that was only about half of what it should have been. OOPS.

I've recently started taking multivitamins again, so that should help. I'll try to eat iron-fortified cereal more often and then the rest of my diet should bump me up to the right levels. I also found out that having tea or coffee with food knocks down the iron absorption by up to 75%. Oops again. So I guess I shouldn't be washing down that multivitamin with coffee anymore, huh? I'll have to move those to bedtime because there's no way I'm ready to give up morning coffee or tea right now.

If all this works, I'll have to come up with some new hobbies to burn off all that energy I'll have. Whee

Last night as we were walking into the theater for A Prayer for Owen Meany, I spotted the headshot of one of my favorite local actors. Very good and oh, so cute. Squee! I hadn't known he was in the play. He had a small part, but it still is always cool to see him in different roles. Then he passed us on the street as we were heading for our cars. I was well-behaved and didn't follow him. Anti-stalker points!

In other news, the social circles of the world continue to get smaller and smaller and overlap like the olympic rings.

And (again) I stayed up waaaay too late reading The Kite Runner. Foolish girl.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!