Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Rockwell weekend

2006-09-26 - 10:05 p.m.

Tuesday already and I never did get around to a weekend update. As it was pointed out to me, my weekend had a touch of the Norman Rockwell to it, in a way mine typically don't.

Friday night I spent most of the evening in the car, driving down to Maryland. Typically when I go down there on a Friday night I plan ahead and leave right from work. But this time I'd only made the decision to go that afternoon, so still had to get home first and then got snagged in Friday rush. Eventually I detoured to farm country, which made for a pleasant drive excepting the times I drove through freshly fertilized land. Bleah.

Had some nice catchup time with my cousin and her daughter, sipping a pumpkin beer, til we were yawning as much as we were talking and gave in to bedtime.

Saturday another cousin and the baby she watches joined us and we went apple-picking--my first time doing any such fruit-gathering activity. I planned to have dinner with my grandparents afterwards, so picked extra apples for them and cut a wildflower bouquet for Grandma, too.

Dinner with my grandparents was at their usual hangout: Applebees. I was introduced to the manager and all the staff, who all knew my grandparents well. At one of their previous "regular" joints, the waitress knew their dogs' birthdays and brought them treats. Just sayin'...it's a different world they live in. But they're sweet as can be and it's nice to know the folks there treat them well. We made all sorts of jokes about Grandad's heart monitor, but he's looking healthy.

Drove back to PA that night and spent Sunday doing laundry and transforming the apples into loaves of apple bread and a pan of raisin-hazelnut escalloped apples. Still have bunches of them to eat out of hand in a basket on the table. The house smelled of spices all day.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!