Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

taking up sides

2006-10-17 - 9:03 a.m.

I've finally decided to make a change that I never thought I'd make. This lifelong opponent of the two-party system has decided to change my party affiliation from independent to democrat.

I've stated here before that my views over the last several years have gone increasingly leftward and that I'm less and less willing to continue to be shut out of potential change simply because I don't belong to one of those two parties. I don't want my frustration and dissatisfaction with what's going on to make me shut down and withdraw from the process. I want to know that I can give voice to it and play a part in trying to find an alternative.

It doesn't seem that the country's ready to toss out the two-party system just yet, so for now I just need to focus on trying to be a part of making at least one of those parties represent me. Reading about Howard Dean's 50-state strategy has encouraged me. There's a light down the end of that tunnel and it just got one notch brighter.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!