Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Losing track of days

2006-10-24 - 12:56 p.m.

Things have been so busy here I'm falling a little out of touch. For now, I'd say if you don't hear anything, assume all's groovy and busy.

Friday night some friends headed to Cafe Habana for swanky cocktails and delicious Cuban food, then to a comedy club and finally a lounge for a nightcap. Fun evening with great folks, laughing myself silly. Ok, sillier.

Saturday slept in a little and caught a diner brunch before trying to catch up around the house a little. I managed to tackle the desperately overgrown yard and wash about half my laundry before having to get myself showered and together for the evening.

B, Meekay and I headed to the Free Library to hear Barack Obama. Really liked his perspective and am interested in reading his book to find out more specifics of his vision and positions. Bite to eat over a good chat, then Meekay and I headed off to watch All the President's Men and call it an earlyish night.

Sunday Meekay flew us down to Virginia. It was a blast flying with him and then we got to ogle planes and spacecraft (and Buzz Aldrin) at the Udvar-Hazy Air and Space Museum at Dulles. Next we headed off to distribute campaign literature for Jim Webb's senate campaign and ended up at a house party with some of the other volunteers before flying back. Flying in and out of Dulles on a small plane's a pretty wild experience. Listening to their air traffic control juggling the lineups of folks trying to take off made me grateful I don't work in air traffic control. Yeesh! Meekay's entry has lots more detail on the flights and the day in general. We're flying to an air show this weekend and I can't wait to go up again.

Yesterday my work day was full of details to launch our United Way campaign. I made unusually great time heading into Philly after work and attended a science lecture (science + beer = a happy Veralynn) and back to Meekay's to watch Jarhead, which earned a resounding "meh" from both of us.

Today has been swallowed up by meetings and I'm falling far enough behind on things I really need to do that I may have to back out of some of the things I wanted to do. I'm sure it'll all work itself out soon enough.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!