Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

rollercoaster weekend

2006-11-06 - 1:57 p.m.

What an up and down weekend.

Friday night started things off wonderfully as L hosted a fabulous birthday shindig for D and me. Wondrous people, great food, games and some deeeelicious wine. Perfect way to celebrate.

Saturday things took a bit of a nosedive. Meekay woke feeling worse again, so called off his plans for the afternoon. We decided he'd come back to my place with me and study while I worked on cleaning the carpets upstairs, figuring that'd take an hour or two tops and then we'd have the rest of the day to relax together.

Not quite.

Whilst prepping the upstairs for carpet-cleaning, I decided to throw in a load of laundry in the basement. And discovered that the basement was flooded. Joy. Took ages with my crappy wet/dry vac that sprays water out the back vent.

As I was in the middle of cleaning up that mess, Meekay hollered down, "You're not going to believe what Echo just did." Not only did he have another peeing incident...this time he peed in a basket of apples on my kitchen table. WTF?!

I am still holding out hope that I might be able to break him of this. It's only been a week since I started the pheromone stuff and it says it may take a month or two to kick the problem. Plus my tearing up the upstairs then causing all the racket with the wet/dry vac downstairs was pretty good reason for him to be stressed. Still, it's frustrating.

Luckily by evening we got some time to get out for a Thai dinner and then were able to curl up with plenty of cold care tea and some Firefly episodes to relax for a while.

Sunday was bridesmaid dress shopping with L and the rest of the bridal party. Much fun over breakast out and we made some good progress on dresses.

Home again to get myself together for a big party for the film office. The party was at Lucky Strike...a center city loungey place with a bowling alley and pool tables. Great time there, then a quick bite at El Vez (guacamole was amazing as always, but the crab quesadillas left something to be desired...too posh for their own good).

Alas Meekay's plague advanced and he barely got any rest last night. He went to the doc today and was told it's viral so will be sticking around for a while without much he can do. Alcohol seems to be the only thing that's touching it so far, better than Nyquil or anything else. Like everything else in life, some good port will cure all your ills.

Home at lunch to empty the bucket under the leak at the furnace that caused the flooded basement and to clean out my fridge. Whoo, do I know how to have a good time or what?! Should be hearing back from the heating/plumbing folks soon to see when they can come out and rob me blind try to fix the leak.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!