Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Election Day Recap

2006-11-08 - 9:16 a.m.

I was the only one at my polling place there to vote from the time I walked in until the time I walked out.

It was dismal having a ballot without a single independent or third party candidate listed.

There were only republicans outside the polling location.

I then went phonebanking for the "Democratic Coordinated Campaign." It may be democratic but it definitely could use some improvement in the coordination department.

I started on calls for Lois Murphy, then moving to calls for my own Congressional candidate (now Congressman-elect) Joe Sestak. Eventually someone popped in with an update that the Murphy race was neck and neck and would be one of the tightest races in the country, so they moved us all to calls for her.

Our script changed through the day, getting shorter, and eventually starting off with an apology for the number of calls rather than an introduction of who we were.

We could hear snippets of other callers' conversations. At one point I heard, "Not according to the 9/11 commission!" and knew we had a live wire. That guy's call lasted probably 45 minutes. heh.

I only got cursed out once.

I helped one woman who had a problem voting.

I helped some folks who were relieved I'd called because they didn't know their polling location.

I convinced some folks to get out and vote who hadn't been sure they were going to bother.

I helped one old woman who was stuck at home without a ride to the polls.

I am sure I annoyed more people than I helped, but hey, that's sort of democracy, isn't it?

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!