Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Thanksgiving 2005

2005-11-25 - 7:42 p.m.

Wednesday afternoon I headed up to Manhattan. The holiday travel horrors were miraculously absent. I drove up to Trenton and took Jersey transit up. The train was packed, but the roads were moving smoothly. Got into Penn Station a little late and hopped the subway uptown a bit to meet up with my cousin and her family. We sat by the fire in the lobby of their hotel and had a cocktail before dinner. Walked around the corner to Sarafina for a bite of Italian and then ducked into sbux for a doppio before walking over to the Gershwin for Wicked.

The show was fun and it was particularly fun to see it with them. Next we hit a little market and picked up some desserts to nibble in their hotel room. Jumped a cab down to Penn Station to head back home while they nestled in for the night to get ready for the Macy's parade in the morning.

Got back to Trenton just as the snow started to fall. First snowfall of the year. Got back home at 3 am and caught a few hours of sleep. Cat wouldn't let me sleep all the way til the alarm. Somehow I kept myself from pulling out his whiskers one by one and just got out of bed. Kitchen time readying for Thanksgiving and then headed down to MD for Thanksgiving at my sister's.

My nephews answered the door when I got there. The little one announced, "I really missed you," and I spent the next five minutes trying to pick my heart back up off the floor.

Despite being wiped I ended up staying after everybody else had gone home and watched A Christmas Story with my sister, her kids, her boyfriend and his little boy. Went over to my uncle's about midnight and we collapsed with a bit of South Park before bedtime. Nice hangout time and breakfast out together before it was time to drive back up home.

So brief as each chunk of the holiday was, it provided lots of good moments with family which, after all, is the whole point.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!