Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

the barbecue

2006-06-26 - 9:48 a.m.

Seven years ago this week I got one of the most memorable letters of my life. It was an email from a good friend of mine about what he wanted from his life. I've pulled it out for perspective more times than I can count.

At the time, he was still in law school and was understandably pretty overwhelmed and stressed. One day he found himself waiting in a line, listening to some guys talk about a birthday party one had thrown for his son that weekend and it got him thinking. He realized that one of the things he most wants out of life is, "very simple, in a way: I want to be able to have all of my closest friends over to my house, throw some burgers on the grill (or veggie burgers as the case may be) and sit around watching their kids play with my kids. I want to sit on the back porch, have a few drinks, and talk about nothing while the sun goes down. I want lazy summer Saturday afternoons to be spent the way they were meant to be spent, with friends and family (and NOT in the office--I can hope). And I wanted you guys to know that if I ever do get the chance to do that, I want you to be there."

Well, he's still got plenty of time to build his family, but Saturday night was pretty darned close to his vision. Tomorrow is his 30th birthday and we had a surprise barbecue at his parents' place Saturday night. Friends and family mingled together, talking, laughing, drinking beer, sharing great food and enjoying the evening. He looked completely in his element as he joined conversations or just sat back and smiled at those around him.

I'm so glad I got to be a part of that. I'm looking forward to many more of those days to come.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!