Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

09-18-2005

2005-09-18 - 8:30 p.m.

First weekend of vacation.

Day 1: Got out and about early Saturday. Got the oil changed and the tire pressure checked. Hit the bookstore for some books and a bite of breakfast. Picked up some stuff at Petsmart and played with the cats and kittens who were up for adoption for way too long. I am a sucker and they know it as soon as I walk up. Next up was Trader Joe's. Such a wonderful place. Most of the afternoon was lazy, doing crosswords, baking a loaf of honey wheat bread in the breadmaker, listening to the radio, playing with the cat and fighting a nasty headache (it seems I need to try to hit the chiropractor's for a quick adjustment before I leave tomorrow). Watched some of the Jazz at Lincoln Center fundraiser concert and then watched one of my Netflix movies...Japanese Story. Excellent flick. Toni Collette was wonderful.

Today I got up and made a big breakfast: a scrambled egg, a vegetarian sausage patty, tea and toasted homebaked bread, some with Jamaican orange marmalade and some with marmite. Heaven. Made a grocery store run and then spent some time making cds. My cousin's having an 80s party next weekend so I put together 5 80-minute 80s mixes to send down to her along with some nice tacky jewelry to wear.

Headed into Philly in the afternoon. Figured on stopping in at the reggae festival but the entry fee was $35. Eeep. So I sat outside the gates watching the water and reading, listening to the music for a little while before heading to the Ritz to see Constant Gardener. Finally got around to hitting the Jamaican Jerk Hut I've been dying to go to for months. Had some fiery jerk shrimp, rice and peas, and a pineapple soda. I can still feel the heat in my stomach. They have achee and saltfish so I will have to go back for brunch sometime.

I still have an awful lot of things on my to-do list tomorrow before I'll be ready to go, but there's a bunch of food piled up on the kitchen table and I'm getting up early to dig into getting the rest together.

I've been needing this break for a long time.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!