Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Itaqui

2003-04-24 - 12:27 p.m.

a dark apartment in france

faces coming and going

phone cord stretched taut across the room

to the windows...

tall, creaking casement windows

with thick glass

and ancient white paint peeling off the frames...

trying to hold the phone so you could hear

the bacchanal below.

your ear, your voice long distance from Itaqui

why you were there and why you called I'll not know.

The first I'd heard of Itaqui was when you whispered it in my dreaming.

Watching the people in the streets below I wanted to join, dancing there in just high heels

because it seemed the thing to do.

The souvenir memory to file of this place.

I slipped on a long coat, streaming open, and black leather pumps and wound down the stone spiral stairs to the open nighttime air. When I came to the courtyard with the iron gates, you were waiting there.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!