Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Knees

2004-08-16 - 9:30 a.m.

I really am too young to be having body parts wear out. I found out recently that both knees are wrecked with severe cartilage degeneration. There's a tear in one knee on top of the wearing away, swelling and such, too. Today I will meet with the surgeon for the first time to see what they can do. Words like degenerative are scary, especially when you're young enough that, if all else cooperates, there are a lot more years of degeneration ahead. And I'm already in the worst stage of the condition...nowhere to go from here.

Bionic knees would be great if it wouldn't mean having to run in slow motion and make cheesy sound effect noises.

They've bothered me for a long time (my knees, not sound effects), but lately have really begun to interfere with what I can do. I used to shrug it off when they hurt because I didn't think the problem was significant. Now that the pain's been labelled, and the way I feel about what it's doing to me, it makes me wonder about why it feels valid just because it has a name, given by someone else.

I've been spending some time coming up with fun things to do sitting down. I even am teaching myself to crochet. So I suppose that if I end up in a lot of pain soon, I'll at least get some nice scarves out of the deal.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!