Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Too many beats our hearts have skipped

2005-08-08 - 4:22 p.m.

Friday I was so darned productive early in the day on studying that I decided to blow off working through the evening and accept an offer for a free ticket to the Phillies. I'm not a huge baseball fan, but I'll have fun at about any sporting event if it's live (and particularly if it involves good friends, good beer, peanuts in the shell and ice cream). Shot into the city on the train and met up at an Irish bar where we sat outside in the sun ogling the waitstaff, gabbing, people-watching and enjoying the view of Love park.

Saturday got up earlyish for studying and laundry. Much cuddling with a happy cat that was glad to have me lazing about on the floor. Saturday afternoon off to a friend's housewarming party with a couple of shopping stops en route to build a little housewarming gift basket. He doesn't cook, so I filled the basket with beer, nacho cheese sauce, chips, pretzels and lined the basket with kitchen towels featuring hula girls. Yup, we're all class, all the time.

Saturday night drove into town and to yet another Irish pub for a bite to eat and conversation before a premiere of a local indie film a friend of a friend did. The film certainly had some truly funny moments and some good things going for it, but should have been about 20 good minutes instead of 100 slow ones. They had a particular affection for long montages and several explicit sex scenes that didn't particularly add to the film development. Won't even go into a description of the short that opened before the feature except to say that the long dance sequence with the colorful umbrellas was painful. Back to the pub again for even more sparkling conversations after to wrap up the night.

A zillion romantic dreams Saturday night, never fun to wake from.

Spent Sunday studying, hitting the gym, getting the car washed, and weedwacking the backyard jungle (which makes my arms hurt in a way the gym never does). Took myself to see The Beat that My Heart Skipped at a little local theater last night. Hit the sheets early so I could get up early to hit the books before work again. So cyclical.

I'm exploring options for a regular volunteer gig to start up once I'm done with this exam. For the last 2 years I've been a mentor. In theory, the program would have been a great match for me, but both years I've gotten paired with girls who couldn't be bothered to actually participate in the program, so I didn't end up really getting to connect with them. Now I'm figuring on auditioning to record books for the blind. Found all the contact scoop today, but I want to wait until I've scheduled my exam before I schedule the volunteer orientation.

Today is ticking by too slowly. The morning was very busy and I've done plenty today, but I keep being shocked that the clock is moving so slowly.

I'm fantasizing about disappearing to a walled tent for a week and doing nothing but reading and writing.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!