Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

bridesmaid round one

2004-10-22 - 1:13 p.m.

Last weekend I went to Tennessee for a wedding. Friday morning I'm busily packing away and decide to check online to make sure my flight's running on time and double-check to see how big a carry-on bag I can get on board these days. So within a half hour of when I'm planning to walk out the door I find out my flight's CANCELLED. Apparently the crew wouldn't be there in time. ARGH. I flashback to the LAST time I went to Tennessee on US Air and they left me stranded an extra night.

Let it be known that none of the options on their press 1 for this and 2 for that phone system say ANYTHING like "press 3 if you're supposed to be travelling now, but we cancelled your flight and you now need to beg us to DO something about it." Eventually I got a person, though the wrong person and got transferred again for a while. They offered to get me there 12 hours late (uh, NO) and then dug up alternatives to fly me around for awhile, hoping to get me there sooner. Luckily their alternative didn't involve a parachute and a map of a dropzone, so I accepted their offer of flying to Nashville by way of Cincy.

As for the airport navigation, let me just say that bad knees HATE airports and 3 airports in one day is punishing. I'll leave it at that.

Then my rental car had mechanical problems so I had to go switch that out.

Now on my way to meet up with bride and her sister, I decided to find a quick bite for lunch. I entered what was laughingly called a Deli & Market, though it turns out they must not do any deli business at all. And it barely looks like they do market business either. After running through all the options of what they were out of at the deli counter, I decided prepackaged food might be a better bet. I found strawberry Nesquick dated last APRIL. ewwwww. Nothing like bad dairy. Glad I checked the dates, I pressed on and finally found some juice and a bag of smartfood that seemed like a safe bet and close enough to real food.

The rehearsal, rehearsal dinner, wedding and reception all went beautifully smooth. She made a lovely bride and the groom looked positively thrilled and made us cry when he teared up. They did an amazing job of keeping things pretty and meaningful and yet simple. Verrrrry nice. Love to see really good folks connecting like that, especially one of my all-time favorite people out there.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!