Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

What's bugging me

2003-08-12 - 2:25 p.m.

It's starting to get old grossing people out. Friday night, hanging out on the stoop and the sidewalk with friends and neighbors for the evening, I managed to get *80* mosquito bites on my legs and feet, at least 30 of which run from the inside of my left ankle on down to the big toe. Wearing shoes is a joke. Showering makes my leg vibrate from aggravating the bites so much. The itching is a constant distraction. But mainly I look like I have some viciously contagious disease.

As for West Nile Virus, my odds are:

Less than 1% of people who get bitten will get the virus.

About 20% of those get sick with WNV.

Very few of those get seriously ill or have the permanent neurological damage.

Of course, that's all multiplied out by 80 in my case. ;)

I think it's time to invest in some heavy duty DEET for the rest of the summer. Currently surviving with antihistamines, diphenhydramine hydrachloride, benzocaine and hydracortizone.

And I know I knew better, but I still didn't get around to washing the benzocaine off my fingertips. Forgot about it and an hour later managed to make my lips go numb.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!