Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

A little creole magic

2004-08-31 - 4:06 p.m.

Onions, celery, red and green peppers, garlic (there can never be enough garlic), veggie sausage, tomatoes, sauce, broth and spices -- oh, the spices -- gave off a wonderful smell all through the apartment that was still around this morning to mingle with the scent of brewing coffee. Minutes ago, W added seafood and put the whole thing in the crock pot to start heating away. In a while, we'll add cups of long-grain brown basmati rice and there will be jambalaya tonight. Oh, yes, there will. Been ages since I made that.

I am quite the Paul Prudhomme devotee, though I fully admit to needing radical modifications of his recipes. He starts off with giving the options of lard, chicken fat or beef fat. Uh, none of the above?? Ew! I know some would consider it almost sacreligious to use veggie sausage instead of andouille and tasso, but I figure I prefer being less authentic to being desperately ill, so there you go.

I think I have to make an emergency tabasco run after work, just to make sure we won't be caught short. Perish the thought! We'll see what Italian tastebuds think of some seriously American food. I so think they need to pick crabs sometime too. There's just something about a meal you eat over newspapers with hammers, knives and picks as your only utensils that must be experienced.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!