Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Tofurkey and a crumpled car

2004-11-29 - 8:43 a.m.

What a freaky weekend.

Wednesday night dug into writing my paper on Perdue (what a week to be writing about a poultry business...especially for someone who doesn't even eat poultry). Study breaks were watching bonus footage on the 2-disc edition of A Bug's Life. All hail Pixar!

Thursday I got up at 6am to start cooking a side dish to take for Thanksgiving and finish up the paper. Got the paper wrapped up and sent out to my teacher about 10, got myself together, then W and his son came over for a big breakfast before we headed down to Maryland for Thanksgiving.

Stuffed ourselves silly, of course, and had a great time hanging with everybody. Crashed at my uncle's place and got W's son back home to the middle of PA just a bit later than we were supposed to Friday afternoon. Hit Target, Chinese for dinner, and took W to see The Incredibles (my 2nd time).

I was in a car accident Saturday evening. Luckily I'm fine, not even sore, but the car's crunched on the driver's side. I had the right of way, but got broadsided coming across an intersection by a woman on a cell phone. Trying today to sort out what happens from here with the car, getting a rental, etc. etc. Thank goodness for all the good steel beams in the sides of Hyundais.

Had to disconnect the battery 'cause the door's so crunched the car thinks I have the driver door open, so it had safety and dash lights stuck on. Didn't want the battery to die before we can do something to get the car fixed. Can't open the driver door at all. I felt totally lame in that I couldn't get the darned thing disconnected myself. Luckily TomVioience played hero and came to my rescue. Took a bouquet of wrenches to beat it into submission. We spent a wild Saturday night at the office decorating my boss' office for his 50th birthday (I know, you're all jealous of our crazy lifestyle). And, of course, I just found out he won't even be in today. Gah! Looks great though!

Then last night I discovered the basement flooded from all the heavy rain yesterday. Ooh, the joys of mopping funky water up from a basement floor.

Have you seen any locusts about?

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!