Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Deadlines: homework and housework

2004-06-23 - 3:22 p.m.

Tonight is my last night of assigned homework for a few months. After tomorrow night's class, I will be studying on my own for a while for some exams, teaching myself whole courses at a time. And, when I am brave enough and have time enough, my friend will help me to learn/relearn Algebra for that exam.

Thinking about independent study used to make me nervous as I never believed I had the discipline to really keep up with it on my own. I like that I surprised myself over the years and found that I do, in fact, work well that way. Granted, I still work towards a set test date, so there is an actual deadline, and maybe that makes the difference.

Maybe I need a PERT chart for all the home improvement projects that perpetually stay on my list. Maybe all they need is a deadline to see the light of day. My strategy this week has been to do at least a little something each day to help bring the place together. Even if it's just cleaning up for five minutes, just something to keep it from falling further behind. We'll see if that ends up being enough to move it forward.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!