Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

more hide and seek

2002-07-16 - 2:38 p.m.

scribbled over lunch hour. I had to eat right-handed so I could write this and eat at the same time.

can you come out and play?
my screen door creaked open
then slammed closed behind me in answer
and I was already halfway
across the front lawn
barefoot
hair still damp from the pool
eyes burning pink from the chlorine
looking underwater into the deep end

who's it?
my turn, you answered
and I barreled off to hide
as you started at 100.

Plenty of time.
It wouldn't be really dark for an hour yet
I hid
and I waited
I listened to the crickets
and the neighbor's dog barked
but I never heard you coming
I could see more stars now
and the streetlights were coming on
I shivered a little,
and walked back to the front porch
where I found you reading a book.

What part of hide and seek do you not get?

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!