Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Monnnday

2004-04-26 - 10:07 a.m.

Friday night we both had stuff to do, so decided to get together and ignore each other for a while. It worked out well. We both got some stuff done and then were already in the same room by the time we were ready to have fun. Or collapse.

Saturday we got some more have-tos done in the morning. He became lord of the laundromat and I did some running around to find a post office that was actually open on a Saturday to send packages out and about. I am good about trying to package things up properly, but inevitably the clerk clucks his or her tongue at me, tells me something is wrong with my tape or my form or something and then makes a big ordeal of correcting it, "though I'm not supposed to do this." This time I learned that you can't send a shiny package by registered mail. They made me put the shiny pack in a paper pack. She dug her heels in when I fretted that the flap on the paper one they made me buy wasn't staying closed and after more struggling, she grudgingly put some postal tape on it and stamped the thing about 20 times all over the back. Oy. Apparently I am a postal rebel.

Next, we got to try some of W's latest soup creation. This man cooks and I don't just mean one dish at a time. Thursday night I got there about 10:30 and he had three pots of food cooking. Some of his dishes cook for days on end. This time it was a new soup, thick and creamy, but not quite the eyes-rolling-back-in-the-head good that his potato leek soup was. But it's getting there.

We jumped in the car, threw open the sunroof (to see the actual sun! that was out on a Saturday, how novel) and drove out to a combination farmer's market/flea market place. Lessons learned #308: For some things $2.50 is just too much to pay. We found some great stuff though...wonderful spices and tea, a cool maple table for my guestroom (the only stick of furniture I have for it so far), a sandwich board, shoeshine box and other stuff for W. I was very restrained and didn't get the $500 art deco bedroom set, though that was a ridiculously good price for well-made pieces.

Lessons learned #942: Studying is oh, so much better with a vodka tonic.

Had piles of studying and cleaning to do over the weekend. Not the everyday doing-dishes sort of cleaning, either, but the scrubbing that gross stuff off the basement floor and taking a toothbrush and megableachstuff to the tub grout sort of cleaning. ewwwww I so have to regrout.

Lessons learned #273: A pile of first-graders singing What a Wonderful World is the cutest damned thing. OH YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!