Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Powerless

2003-09-22 - 10:03 a.m.

All hail gas stoves and water heaters. It's much easier to deal with power outtages when you can still take a hot shower, cook a real meal, and boil water for coffee.

I've been without TV for almost four months and have rarely missed it. I missed the stereo the first evening.

The neighbors behind us have a generator that sounds like it's trying to summon the beasts of hell. I was tempted to form a posse of neighbors to assault their house with torches and insert the generator somewhere painful that might muffle the sound. Luckily the cop at the end of the block summoned the township folks to have a chat with them about noise ordinances and reasonable hours of making that much noise. Ironically, we got our power back Saturday evening and the folks with the generator are still out. I almost feel like offering to trade houses with them, just so they'll keep the racket down. Almost.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!