Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

power play

2002-10-19 - 9:14 p.m.

Wearing the jersey of the hockey team playing the locals starts a whole lot of conversations.

I walked into the pub wearing a Caps jersey. This season that isn't actually an embarassing move considering that (before today) they were actually 3-0-0. Yay for new coaching!

But of course they haven't won in Philadelphia in over 4 years. Sigh.

A table full of men eating lunch and bitching about their wives who were calling them on their cell phones asked me over to sit with them. I had to juggle some studying on commercial breaks and between periods so I declined. Was drilled by the staff for every play they missed (you could hear them cheering at each Flyers goal back in the kitchen where they were listening to the game on the radio). And I met this exotic cool woman and her desperately stoned boyfriend who were also caps fans. :) Or at least were more caps fans than flyers fans. Anyway, hockey's really the only sport I follow enough to bond over, so it was fun. Though the woman and I bonded more over pathogens, infectious proteins and odd quirks of epidemiology. I need a life.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!