Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

project day

2003-11-18 - 4:40 p.m.

I am officially a house geek. A properly flushing toilet made me far too happy.

Unfortunately today, we discovered more problems that the seller didn't disclose. For example, in one spot where a pipe wan't quite the right size, he'd jammed a metal skewer in the joint and then slathered it up with lots of silicone. It's still leaking. And it's even leaking at times when it isn't even supposed to HAVE water in there...it seems the massive pipes that are supposed to drain out to the sewer are backed up, so that's making two spots in the basement leak. Urgh. Roto rooter time.

Enough with plumbing problems. And we're not even going to talk about how nasty one of the other jobs is that the contractor still has to do, but let's just say it makes sewer pipes look good. While he was busy working on projects today, that gave me some time to work on a few of my own too. I rebuilt a cabinet and got it fixed to the wall so I finally have space to put away my clothes. yay! I got the kitchen and my front room nearly unpacked. Realistically, I shoulda thought ahead and bought paint. I coulda been painting the living room yellow today. Oh well.

Even got to do a little bit of studying. Prepping for a test in Principles of Supervision (which I think means I get to be bossy). The book's one that will put ya right out to sleep, so I am proud to say I read another 25 pages without falling asleep. I think the noise of power tools was a help.

Oh, and I found out I have to have the chimney inspected still. Chim-chiminy...nnnnevermind. Not even the fireplace sort of a chimney, just the boring kind for the heater.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!