Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

The Purple One

2004-08-23 - 1:30 p.m.

I'm not normally a fan of stadium concerts. I like clubs where the sound is better and you're more intimately connected with the musicians. But a few folks are worth seeing, even if you have to catch them in a stadium. Last night we saw Prince.

Arrived early, which meant no traffic hassles and a parking space close enough that even I could walk in okay. We went up to the lounge, had drinks and got all moony and sweet for a while. Off to the "party suite" where there was a buffet and a bar for a bite before settling into our seats. Having perks like real food, separate entrances, the bar and bathrooms without huge lines made the stadium show lots more enjoyable for sure. Okay, and the 5 (5?) whiskey sours sure didn't hurt.

The show was amazing. I was suprised he only did a few songs from the new album. The whole thing was done in-the-round and they all really worked the crowd. One of the most entertaining drummers I've ever seen. Confetti and purple metallic streamers poured from the ceiling during Let's Go Crazy and the whole place did indeed go crazy for the full show. No opening act...just Prince. He even came out and did a good half-dozen songs on the acoustic guitar. Covers of Satisfaction and Whole Lotta Love. Felt strange going through a whole Prince show sitting down instead of dancing myself silly, but was still a complete blast.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!