Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

it's gotta be the shoes

2002-08-30 - 11:25 p.m.

I missed certain female traits in my genetic makeup. Today's project was shoe shopping. I try to shop for shoes like a man. Need black shoes...go to store. Get black shoes (that actually FIT my feet...vital point), leave store. Maybe go drink a beer.

Unfortunately I have to shop for shoes in the women's department, which means that they rarely will actually fit my foot. Comfortably. Again, my makeup...I'm unwilling to wear a shoe that doesn't believe I have toes just because it's cute.

So I generally spend as little time as possible in shoe stores. Today I needed shoes so I reluctantly headed to the shoe store. My method of attack was to go to the biggest shoe store around so I could at least limit it to one-stop shopping. I have never spent enough time in shoe stores to realize what a bonding experience it is...even for strangers. While trying to find shoes for a cocktail dress I was asked for advice on fashion. By someone else I was asked opinions on colors. I dug through sizes with a third woman. Then I met a pageant-goer and her mother who had already found what they wanted, but spent a good 10 minutes or more helping me try to find something that would work for me. It was very bizarre.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!